Babies and Brunch

Last Saturday I had the privilege of co-hosting a baby shower for some beloved friends. It was a blast.

I’ve known Steven and Kelly for about 3 years now, and we have had the honor of being being in a home community group with them for 2. They are due to have their first little sweet bundle of joy arrive in July, and I could not be more excited to meet that precious baby!

Kelly and Steven decided they wanted a low-key, non-traditional, co-ed shower that could also be described as simply a fun party to invite a ton of their friends to. We were happy to oblige. I have done the baby shower hosting gig before, but I’ve never shared the duties with a group of 5 other women before. It was definitely needed, too, since over 40 people RSVPd! Having a “host of hosts” worked beautifully.

P1030584 (1)

 Seriously, could Kelly be any more beautiful? I could not stop staring at her in all her pregnancy glowing glory.

P1030564

P1030582 (1)

How adorable are they? I found this totally ridiculous t-shirt on Etsy and bought it for Steven to wear. He was a great sport, though I do worry he will re-pay me at some point down the road when I least expect it. (Have mercy, please Steven)

P1030549 (1)

P1030557

Brunch was so easy, since in Austin, Texas that only means two things: Alcohol and breakfast tacos. So yes, we served mimosas and a taco bar. The fruit and cupcakes from Bribery (The BEST Austin bakery) were so colorful and beautiful. **Full disclosure: I had little to do with the food, and mainly contributed in cupcakes and decorations.

My favorite party tip: When at all possible, decorate with food.

IMG_7365 (1)

P1030566 (1)

P1030617

Here is the lovely party-planning committee along with the mommy-to-be. My skin tone in this one totally gives away that I have been locked inside a classroom for the last 8 months. At least I don’t need to waste money on sunscreen this Summer…

My 2 weeks off school were very very busy, but in the best way possible. The best thing I could have done for myself with that time is re-connect with all of the people I love, and that’s exactly what I did. This shower was just one of many examples of hours spent filling up my heart cup until it was totally overflowing. I’m so grateful for the people God has put in my life, and how they continue to love and support me even when I can’t be around as much as I would like these days. I am marching on into a new semester with a huge smile on my face thanks to wonderful people like these.

P1030608

P1030579 (1)

P1030618

 

For real, though, is it July yet??!? I can not wait to meet you, Baby Cutbirth!

Leave a Reply

