Weekend in Phayao

Constance and I have been moving around a lot in Thailand, trying to hit all of her favorite towns and see as many of her friends as possible. This past weekend was spent in the town where she lived for 2 years called Phayao. We stayed with the incredible Reese family, who have been missionaries here for FIVE years. They have 3 of the most adorable and fun children on the planet, and we just had a blast together.

One of the days we were there, we all took a day trip to a town called Chiang Rai. Its about an hour away, has some amazing temples, and oh…ostrich riding.

Wat Rong Khun was the name of the white temple in the photos below, and it was probably my favorite temple we have visited on our trip-which is actually saying a lot! The building and murals and sculptures were all designed by a locally famous artist, who weird tourists like me take pictures next to when they see cut-outs of him.

But really, how majestic is this?? The girls kept joking it looked like Elsa’s ice castle from the movie Frozen. If you don’t get the reference, you should probably go watch that movie like right now.

P1010483

P1010485

P1010491

P1010492

P1010502

P1010508

 

Then it was on to riding ostriches. I will say this about the whole ordeal:

It was really sad. It was really scary. I never want to do it again, but I guess I’m glad I did it for the pictures.

I was NOT expecting a giant bird to be way scarier than laying on a live adult tiger. Ann rode it after me, and honestly her laughing at the absurdity of the situation helped take my mind off the fact that I was probably killing this poor creature with my american-sized body. There was also a petting zoo there (soooo random) so we got to pet some sheep and donkeys afterward.

After all of the animal nonsense this trip has entailed, I have decided that the motto of this adventure is the following:

“Come to Thailand, where everything’s cheap and nothing’s illegal!”

P1010522

P1010531

P1010533

P1010551

P1010552

P1010558

P1010567

I’m going to stop now, because I could honestly spend this entire day posting pictures and this internet is super slow. Sadly, our time in Thailand is almost up. We are going to take a 24 hour-long detour in Tokyo on our way back, though, which I am super excited about. Can’t wait to put more ridiculous pictures and stories on here when I have time and American-speed wifi!

Cheers guys!

Leave a Reply

