2 sides to every story

As the title of this post suggests, there are 2 sides to every story. The election yesterday is proof of that.

I have been SO blessed since moving from my home state of Georgia to have gotten to experience life in 2 cities that are widely considered the most forward-thinking, innovative places in the country. With these experiences came countless interactions from people who view life from a completely different lens than we Bible-belters. I’ve worked long shifts at various jobs, talking for hours with people who I may have once considered to be “wrong” in their thinking. As if they were somehow less educated than me, when I was the ignorant one.As I’ve listened, pondered, prayed for these friends I have made, God has began to allow me to love them from a perspective of understanding.

This change in myself has made it incredibly difficult for me to hold strong opinions on any of the social/economic issues that have arisen in the past few years. Every time I hear someone tell me that gay marriage will corrupt America, I can sorta see how they might think that…but then I see the faces of people I’ve met in my life who deserve happiness. They are better people than me, yet they don’t share the rights that I share. For every person who claims that the health care bill is a terrible decision, I think, “yeah maybe…” but then I think of friends here in Austin who are denied health care because of a condition they were born with. People whose lives depend on having health care. I CARE about these people, and the best thing for them would be Obamacare…truly.

I struggle so much with all the gray area there is in this life. At this time in history when we are in such a huge mess. I can’t blame it on the president, or congress, or anything else for that matter. It’s all more complicated than that, right? We are corrupt. Our government is corrupt…But here are the most confusing questions I have been trying to answer in my head.

1. Why do we think that America is entitled to be “on top” all the time, and a christian nation that saves the world?

2. Is it our job as Christians to legislate that the commandments WE live by are the ones everyone else must follow?

3. Is it really important to God that Israel…As it is now, in this day and age. be taken care of and protected and favored among other nations?

4. Is there ever going to be a candidate for president again that is actually decent and honest and easy to love?

Am I the only one who can’t see anything as good/bad, right/wrong, black/white anymore? The only thing about this election that I know to be evil is how everyone responds to people who disagree with them. It sickens me. I literally get sick.

I’ve seen a lot of Christians use Bible verses to try to explain why the godly thing to do is vote for Mitt Romney. They site verses that talk about shedding of innocent blood (abortion) and managing the money that God blesses you with (debt reduction) and so on…But wouldn’t there be JUST as many verses to prove the same thing about Obama? How about taking care of the earth (global warming) and maintaining peace with others (relationships with other nations) I mean come on people! The Bible is not a weapon!

SIGHHHH. Anyway, enough rambling about my lack of ability to see anything except the color gray. I’m hope and pray and pray some more that God would give me more clarity.

On a much less political note, we had the best time visiting friends over the weekend in Stillwater, Oklahoma. I would totally live there if it weren’t for Josh’s phobia of small towns. I LOVE that little town. It was incredibly great to spend time with our best friends from Portland Josh and Becky and their 2 sweet boys. Their oldest Noah sure didn’t miss a beat. He was hugging on Josh like he sees him every day of the week. Telling him he loves him and misses him…Almost brought tears to my eye.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Really love those guys.  I miss doing life with them.

Hope no one is too hurt by what others have said about their opinions. Keep having them! It’s healthy. Keep talking through issues with others and searching for truth. Even if you’re like me, and it’s hard to tell sometimes, don’t stop looking, and keep your mind open to it. It’s all we can do.

Since everyone lately is posting things they’re thankful for, I will share mine. I am thankful that the Democrats I know are hard working and incredibly smart people, and I am thankful that the Republicans I know are wonderful, and passionate about seeing our nation made stronger and better than it currently is.

Happy Wednesday!

Caroline

Leave a Reply

