Moving along

Summer’s here. And it’s not in the cute, “let’s play in the sprinkler” kinda way.

It’s way too hot. It’s hotter than last Summer. It’s killing my poor potted herbs on the porch. It’s BAD. I have a feeling this time around I am going to have to discover all the fun indoor activities Austin has to offer. Like bingo.

Our church family here has taken such great care of us since we got back from Georgia. We’ve spent many hours this past week sitting around in living rooms or around tables sharing meals and stories about Josh’s mom’s life. It’s been so therapeutic. I love seeing Christ’s body doing what she’s meant to do. I don’t particularly love being on the receiving end though, but that’s my own fault, with my stubborn inability to receive without giving something in return.

When we were in Georgia, some friends treated us to dinner at a place called Houston’s in Atlanta. I’d never been, but it was pretty incredible food. The real star of the show, though, was the key lime pie we had at the end. INDESCRIBABLY good. I couldn’t stop thinking about the green gooey goodness for the past couple weeks, so I decided to try to make some myself. I’m not one to make my own recipes up, so I had some help from Cooks Illustrated. If you’ve never tried any of these recipes, just know that you are missing out BIGTIME. They are almost always the most complicated recipes on the planet, but every time I buckle down and go for one, it always always always turns out even better than I expect.

So naturally, this is where I turned for a key lime pie recipe. (Which turned out to be the most simple Cooks recipe I’ve ever made. SCORE!)

KEY LIME PIE

INGREDIENTS

  • Lime Filling
  • 4 teaspoons grated lime zest
  • 1/2 cup lime juice from 3 to 4 limes ***This actually ended up being 11 limes for me. EEK!
  • 4 large egg yolks
  • 1 (14-ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
  • Graham Cracker Crust
  • 11 graham crackers , processed to fine crumbs (1 1/4 cups)
  • 3 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 5 tablespoons unsalted butter , melted
  • Whipped Cream Topping
  • 3/4 cup heavy cream
  • 1/4 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/2 lime , sliced paper thin and dipped in sugar (optional)

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. 1. For the Filling: Whisk zest and yolks in medium bowl until tinted light green, about 2 minutes. Beat in milk, then juice; set aside at room temperature to thicken.
  2. 2. For the Crust: Adjust oven rack to center position and heat oven to 325 degrees. Mix crumbs and sugar in medium bowl. Add butter; stir with fork until well blended. Pour mixture into 9-inch pie pan; press crumbs over bottom and up sides of pan to form even crust. Bake until lightly browned and fragrant, about 15 minutes. Transfer pan to wire rack; cool to room temperature, about 20 minutes.
  3. 3. Pour lime filling into crust; bake until center is set, yet wiggly when jiggled, 15 to 17 minutes. Return pie to wire rack; cool to room temperature. Refrigerate until well chilled, at least 3 hours. (Can be covered with lightly oiled or oil-sprayed plastic wrap laid directly on filling and refrigerated up to 1 day.)

    The final product, covered with freshly whipped cream and graham cracker crumbs..MMMMMMM!

    Since this blog is meant to be an expression of my joys and struggles of every day life, I figured that a triumphant pie should be included. I always love it when I find simple, wonderful recipes I can make over and over again.

    I have a grateful heart right now, not because my life is all that, but because I have a sweet puppy resting his head on my foot right now and I get to make dinner for the sweetest guy later. I’ve been struggling lately with whether or not I think true contentment really exists on this earth, and I hope to God that if it does He would help me get there.

    Amen and goodbye.

Leave a Reply

