Little treasures

We just finished studying the book of James at BSF. I don’t think I’ve ever had a week where I’ve felt more aware of my own selfishness and pride. Wanting what I don’t have is truly the root of every ridiculous argument I have, as well as all those moments in the car cursing the person who just cut me off. All of it needs to go. Bye bye selfishness. I have a love/hate relationship with my new found self awareness, and frankly I have been mortified by my behavior and attitudes lately. I just need Jesus…But who doesn’t? I find it such a gift, though, that God would invest in my every day life enough to want to help me care about things that really matter. He is awesome.

Henry and I go on hikes most mornings so I can clear my head and so Henry can clear his bowels. (Sorry, couldn’t resist) Today we were about 2 miles in when we found the coolest tree ever. In the middle of a clearing there was a huuuuge (oak?) tree with beautiful low curvy limbs perfect for climbing. Hanging from all the limbs were hundreds of bottles and votives that someone tied up. I couldn’t get a great picture of the whole tree, but I got a clear shot of just one of the many branches covered in bottles. It was really really neat. I want to go put tea lights into all of them one night…But that would involve hiking 2 miles in the dark so never mind.

Anyway, all that was to say that I am working on being less of a terrible person and do not deserve the little things God brings into my life. Like dried pineapple and hikes in the woods and hugs from a loving husband. Hope you find treasure today.

Caroline

Leave a Reply

