Long December

December has not been my favorite month by any means.

Right now I am sitting at home on the couch with my dog Henry. That would be fun news except that the reason I am missing work today because Henry got his paw bitten by another dog at daycare and had to get 5 stitches in his paw. My poor buddy was so sedated and pathetic when we brought him home from the vet…broke my heart.

I took a couple pictures of him with his new cast, and one of him sleeping on the floor of the vet’s office because he had had such a long day, but this brings me to my next reason why December has been less than merry. My computer is broken. Well not my whole computer, just my hard drive. It has been slowly slipping into a state of uselessness for the past few weeks and I was freaking out a little bit thinking that my pictures were lost and I would have to replace the whole computer, but it’s looking like everything will be okay once my new hard drive gets here in the mail. Phew.

This whole Christmas season has just been significantly more stressful that I remember any other one being. I don’t know if my working full time again has made this much of a difference, but I just haven’t felt able to catch up on anything until (sadly) Henry got hurt and I’ve been home cleaning and doing laundry for 3 days. It has been so hard to find time to get everything done, and we haven’t even started packing and getting ready for our road trip to Georgia yet. I really hate this frantic, hectic, losing-your-mind aspect that seems to come with Christmas every year.

Speaking of stress, I decided 2 weeks ago to leave my full-time nanny job after the New Year. This week was supposed to be my last, and sadly it looks like I will only be going in for one day due to Henry’s inability to leave his stitches alone for 5 seconds. It was such a tough decision, but it really came down to the fact that we were spending so much money every week putting the dog in daycare, and now that I actually have made some friends and have amazing opportunities to give my time on a volunteer basis, I really want more time to put toward those things. I am going to miss the boy I nanny for more than words can say, but hopefully my relationship with their family can stay at a point where I can still babysit from time to time.

Another bummer for the month has been the non-stop rain we have had. I don’t think we have seen a sunny day in December yet. If you know me, you know that I don’t function without the sun. (See post about why we moved away from Portland) There’s just some level of happiness that I can’t achieve without sunshine. Is anyone else like this, or is it just me? Gosh this is the most depressing post ever. I will stop now.

I hope all of your Decembers are going smoother than mine. If I can just make it through the next few days, I will be on the open road with Josh and Henry heading Northeast to Georgia.

Sorry for the lack of pictures! Should have my computer fixed in the next couple days 🙂

Love!!

Caroline

One thought on “Long December

  1. Jeff and Ashley says:

    oh sweetie my last couple weeks have been the same! so i’m stressed and frustrated and add pregnancy into the mix, and i’m falling asleep by 8pm because of the long days at work. i am looking forward to a week of sitting at my parents’ house where i can’t fret about house work, work, laundry, etc. i look forward to rest and i hope that henry forcing you to rest (but poor lil’ guy!!) is a recharging time for you as well.

Leave a Reply

